eBook Pricing

I see today that two books I’m interested in came out today in ebook format, so I checked them out: $9.99 on Amazon.  Hmmm.  Interesting, but I didn’t buy either one.

Why?  I can’t say for sure, but a good potential reason floats to the top: price.  Right this minute, that seems too high to me.  Certainly not if viewed per book, because  I’ve got the ten bucks to spare, but since I read a lot of books–lots and lots of books–that ten dollars will add up pretty quick at  ten to fifteen books a month.  Is that the only reason?  No.  But for this potential purchase I think it was the determining one.

2 Comments

Filed under Books

2 responses to “eBook Pricing

  1. Hey Finn,

    This is a topic that pops up often among readers and authors. I am of the opinion that an eBook over $5.99 is overpriced. There are going to be plenty of publishers that will argue that they need the higher prices for enough profit to share with the author. And while that is true, how many eBooks are they selling at $10-$12? How much royalty is the author getting if the eBooks aren’t selling? Do you price low and sell more volume or overprice and sell fewer copies?

    I believe eBook readers have a set limit in their head and won’t spend more than that for an eBook. Some might. But you didn’t and I don’t think you’re in the minority.

    Personally, I won’t buy an eBook if it is priced over $6.99, and that is only if I want the book bad enough.

    Patty G. Henderson
    http://www.pattyghenderson.com

    • Hey Patty,
      I realize this is a sensitive topic at the moment, because Lesfic publishers are holding fast at the $9.99 (and over) price point. They have their reasons, of course–they like to eat. As do writers, as do readers. Everyone’s trying to get by, the best way they can. I imagine compromise will eventually be struck, but I’m not seeing it yet. I can just speak for myself–right now, that price is too high. For me.

      P.S. Thanks for the comment! I’ve only had the blog for a few days, and was wonderfully surprised to see that someone had dropped by. Thanks for taking the time. I appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

